North American Bowling News

Canada's Lambert Wins PBA Steve Nagy Award

Nagy Winner, George Lambert IV (Photo courtesy PBA LLC)

SEATTLE, Wash. (May 6, 2010) - After finishing second in the Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour Trials in Allen Park, Mich., last May, native Canadian George Lambert IV expressed his desire to become the first bowler from his home country to win a PBA Tour title. He is now the owner of one of the PBA's most prestigious honors, but it isn't the one he had in mind.

Lambert, a 10-time member of Team Canada and a former collegiate star with Wichita State University, has been selected by his fellow exempt tour players as winner of the Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award. He is the first international player to win the award in its 44-year history.

"It was definitely a surprise. It's not something you compete for," Lambert said, "but to be voted the best sportsman on tour after the season I had means a lot. I think it speaks to the role everyone around me has played in making me who I am today—my fellow players, my family, my fiancé (Samantha Swanson).

"I didn't bowl very well last season. It's reflected in the stats. I was close to the bottom in just about everything. But to win the Nagy Award is really cool to me. It's easy to be a good sport when you're winning, but when you're not bowling well and are still able to be a good sport, that's important to me.

"I was still able to be myself," Lambert continued. "It's a job, a competitive business, but you've got to have fun. No matter what you do in life, you need to have fun."

The Hamilton, Ontario, native and his soon-to-be-wife have just moved to Justin, Texas.

Others receiving votes in the Nagy Award balloting were Mike Edwards of Tulsa, Okla.; Jack Jurek of Lackawanna, N.Y.; Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J.; Nathan Bohr of Wichita, Kan., and Mike Scroggins of Amarillo, Texas.

Established in 1966, the Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award is named after the late PBA Hall of Famer who was one of 33 founding members of the PBA. A colorful and talented performer, Nagy made such an impact on his fellow pros that the award was established shortly after his death. Hall of Famer Johnny Guenther won the first "Nagy."

Go Back      or     Close Window

(To execute a 'BACK' command after clicking on a photo to enlarge, right-click on a white area on the screen that follows, and then select 'Back' from the menu that will appear)

If you like this article, give us a quick click on the 'Google +1', 'Facebook Like', and/or 'Twitter Follow' below